A Brief History of Time

Definitely not an easy read, and if you haven’t studied up to A-level physics before then I recommend going with ‘A Briefer History of Time’, it’s a shorter and more guided read.

I’m not one to comment on the mathematics of it all but Hawkings does a brilliant job at summarising all of physics in one book. This book is more about the history of physics in regards to time.

What is a singularity? In physics, a singularity is something infinite. Does that make every human a singularity? Yes. Does that make the present a singularity? Yes.

The biggest lesson I learnt from this book is that the past does not exist. And neither does the future.

It definitely changed my perspective on time as a whole and reminded me how truly relative time is to everyone. As humans, you only have one true perspective of the Universe, yours – so you are the centre of your Universe. Only you can observe it this way.

If you find yourself asking the age-old question – what am I? followed by – what is time? this will definitely open some doors in your brain.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started